The Inspections Department handles all the county’s building code and building permit issues. State law requires a building permit for most residential and commercial construction projects. It is our goal to work with our customers to ensure them an enjoyable experience and to ensure the end result, of the project will meet all codes required.
For the safety of our community, the Greene County Administration Building has restricted access to the lobby only. Drop boxes are provided to allow customers to make paper submittals to our departments and to retrieve written responses without waiting for the mail. We will be handling physical submittals in accordance with CDC guidelines to avoid transmission of COVID-19. This new arrangement should provide greater protection to both the staff and our customers.
There are copies of the forms provided in the lobby area for your convenience. If payment is necessary, envelopes have been provided as well. You may also mail submissions and payments as needed. We are encouraging our citizens to contact staff, via email or phone, to discuss the most efficient and safe way to provide a submittal.
DO NOT PAY THE FEE UNTIL YOU HAVE EMAILED US THE APPLICATION OR DROPPED OFF IT OFF AT OUR OFFICE.
For your convenience, online payment is available by utilizing the link below:
A convenience fee is charged automatically when you pay by card at a 3% rate with a $1 minimum. This fee is calculated automatically on the site once the amount to pay is entered. So the customer knows the fee before agreeing to the payment.
Please note, it may take up to two weeks to process building permits, as staff is taking all precautions when handling the physical submittals.
We appreciate your understanding and cooperation. Please feel free to contact us if there are any questions or concerns.
We will continue to provide excellent customer service to our community.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I request an inspection?
To request an inspection, please call our office at 434-985-5204 at least 24 hours in advance and speak with a Permit Technician. Please always have your building permit number ready upon calling.
What are the permit fees?
See the Fee Schedule. We suggest you always call our office for final pricing before you write a check.
When is a permit needed?
As stated in the USBC, applications for a permit shall be made to the building official and a permit shall be obtained prior to the commencement of any of the following activities, except that applications for emergency construction, alterations or equipment replacement shall be submitted by the end of the first working day that follows the day such work commences. In addition, the building official may authorize work to commence pending the receipt of an application or the issuance of a permit.
Construction or demolition of a building or structure, including the installation or altering of any equipment regulated by the USBC.
Decks, sheds, garages, carports, oversized tents, new gas installation, new gas appliances, finishing a basement, new chimney, generators, new gas logs/stove, demolition of a structure, enclosing a porch or deck, and/or remodeling a structure require a building and zoning permit.
Residential accessory storage structures 256 square feet or less are exempt from building and zoning permits.
How do I make a complaint on a contractor with the Virginia DPOR?
- Call the Department of Code Compliance, 703-324-1300, TTY 711; or
- Call the Virginia State Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 804-367-8500, TTY 711.
- If a person identifies him/herself as a licensed contractor and it is discovered the person is not licensed, it is a violation of Virginia state law. Complaints/violations may be reported by calling 703-324-1300, TTY 711, or by filling out the online complaint form.